Summer Clouds At Sunset

I am always impressed by big skies and today down by the lake shore bands of cloud towered overhead making me feel quite small. The lake isn't that wide and of course flat, so my field of vision extends only 1/4 to 1/2 a mile. The addition of drama in the sky adds to the feeling of space I think.

I really liked the light catching the edge of the clouds which seems to increase the sense of their volume and size. Initially, the water surface was calm, but a passing boat created a wake adding some straight lines and ripples into the mix. Temporarily my attention was diverted from the clouds, however this image is after the water settled somewhat. Even so there are some cloud reflections.

Taken at 8mm, I kept the lens level to avoid any distortion to the verticals. Before rushing back to fetch the super wide, I did try a 6 shot 3x2 pano at 18mm, which Lightroom stitched ok, but the cloud formation was not as nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.