Dating

We met, both of us nervous and slightly fidgety. He kept licking his lips. Nerves, of course. My mouth was dry too. I found him very attractive, and he seemed at least curious about me. We spoke shyly about our preferences. He'd seen me dating his neighbor, a girl. He wanted to know if I preferred girls or boys. I sort of shrugged my shoulders. "It depends on the person," I said, "not the genitals."

He flicked his tail appreciatively, muttered something like "Same here," and adjusted himself, as his recent operation hasn't quite healed.

I admired his facial markings. He inclined his ears warmly toward me. I reached out and touched his cheek, tentatively. He nuzzled a bit shyly, ducked his head, purred a moment as I rubbed his chin. I began to think maybe there was chemistry between us. Suddenly, POW! a startling noise outside.

His eyes grew wide, his posture stiffened. Was it a dog? a truck? a falling beam? Or was it perhaps a coyote? A sadistic kid with a broken bottle? He suddenly gasped, "Take cover!" and disappeared under the chair behind him.

I waited, hoping he'd get over his shock and we could continue our date. But no. He cowered, trembling. I knelt and crawled under to comfort him, but he backed away, blinking fiercely. It was over.

I've decided to wait. I have a massively exciting trip coming up for seven days in the middle of April, something I'm looking forward to with great tingling anticipation. I'll be home for a week and then the first week of May, another trip, closer to home but I'll be away for five nights. After the May trip, I have no travels planned for the rest of my life. Time then to start a new relationship. This gray and white fellow will probably have a home by then, a calm and reassuring one I hope, with someone who will let him cower as long as he needs to, till he begins to feel safe and secure. Anyone in the NW of the USA who might be interested, you can find him here.

I am grateful and humbled by your many comments, stars, and hearts on yesterday's Bella-and-cat-search Blip. Thank you. I have a couple of projects going, so I can't quite make the rounds to as many journals as I'd like nor even say thank you to each person, but I take in your applause with joy and a deep bow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.