Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

The Bass Rock

Near North Berwick on the East Lothian coast. It's home to the largest colony of Northern Gannets in the world. Some of them will have left already to go south for the winter, but there were still enough to shine white-ish  in the sun. At the height of the breeding season the rock is dazzlingly white in the sunshine. You probably can't see it in this photo, but I love seeing the gannets circling above the rock, looking like tiny angels (possibly!).

T and I walked from Dirleton to North Berwick and the weather got better as the day went on. We sat for a long time having lunch and watching sailing boats. There were also some sea kayaks and a few RIBS keeping their eyes on the boats. It just felt lovely being by the sea. The only bad bit was me falling on the beach at North Berwick. I don't think I've got any significant injuries although my right wrist and ribs are sore. At least it happened at the end of the walk!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.