Ingleman

By Ingleman

Trenchfoot

Day 3 of the garage extension shower room thingy. We have all worked hard, A 'n D,  and I.

Ably supported by Ell and Mrs I, providing a constant supply of sustenance and tea. And Hollie dog who thought that repeatedly dropping a tennis ball into a mud filled trench was such good fun!

But phase 2 is done. Footings all dug and a skip now filled with nearly eight tons of soil and stone and tree roots and all manner of imponderables. We never.found  the hamsters though. They were ceremoniously buried many years ago when Ell was a little girl.

My wife used to work at Marks & Spencer and during her 41 years in retail we benefitted enormously from 'staff discount' and other incentives. The shoes in my blip for today were one such bargain. A pair of suede walking shoes and having provided me with many years of comfortable walking are now relegated to gardening and other mud related tasks. Such as digging trenches. They cost just £1 around twenty years ago. Surely the best value money can buy!

I apologise for the upcoming profanity but I have to tell you before I go. D is the uncle to A. D is in his thirties. A is just eighteen. Young, vigorous and fit as a butcher's dog. It started raining at about 2pm and D looked the heavens, asking 'What is this?'

The response from A?  .. 'Don' t worry, it's just a drop of cloud piss, that's all'

Never heard it referred to as that before.

Next step is getting Gary to come and start the build. Can't wait. I am the hod carrier, so it starts to get interesting from now on.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.