Borrowdale (Westmorland)

I've been doing physio exercises for my hip for the last 2 months and I need to test it out before my next appointment .  I dragged Mr P up three peaks in the little visited Borrowdale Valley between the Shap and Tebay roads.  (As opposed to the more familiar, to folks who visit the Lake District , valley with the same name near Derwent Water ) . This valley is named after the beck in the valley- Borrow Beck. I don't know how the other Borrowdale got its name because river in its valley is  the River Derwent - anyway I digress. 
We visited three cairns, did 12km with 425 m of climb, 2 picnics,  a terrible descent of Castle Fell through head high bracken and luckily the water level in Borrow Beck was shallow enough for us to pick stones to get across without  getting wet feet.  Here Mr P has gone down to look for a geocache but we failed on that one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.