Chrelizg21

By Chrelizg21

Spotted

An urban orienteering event in North Cambridge this morning - good courses which definitely engaged brain - & then back a little on the A14 to Fen Drayton Lakes to find a quiet spot to park, have lunch in the van, & walk the dog. Not many birds around (it's managed by the RSPB, but not the right time of year - saw coots, swans & a single heron). There were dragonflies but I didn't manage to spot any settling. The most interesting "spot" was this swimmer in the Great Ouse. There were head-high nettles between the footpath & the river, with only a few gaps, but I managed to grab about 4 shots. Unfortunately he also spotted me & it put him right off his stroke, but he couldn't do anything more than glare at me - & I obviously disappeared behind the nettles again! I assume the pink "balloon" is the swimmers' version of hi viz, to warn boaters that he's there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.