Sparrow

Tony headed off to an orienteering event this morning.  I declined as I had the first meeting of the book club following the lockdowns of the previous eighteen months.  I re-read the book we had intended to review before everything stopped for Covid, it was my first Agatha Christie and I was surprised how much I enjoyed it.  I never watch the television interpretations of the author's work as they are not to my taste, but I will definitely read more of her work.  The second book was one of the Vera series, 'The Seagull'.  I've read several of these crime thrillers by Ann Cleeves and I like the characterisations.  This one was convoluted, as are they all, and I'm still not convinced that all the threads work.  When I arrived at the Chapel, eager for discussion and hopefully a cup of tea, I was met with a sign saying it was temporarily closed due to a case of Covid.  That was a shame and I hope the person is on the road to recovery.

I used to review the books I had read on Goodreads but there aren't enough hours in the day just now so I haven't written one for some time, so it makes me smile when an e-mail pops up saying my review has been 'liked' because, inevitably it will be for one particular review of a Follett book.  I had written that I was concerned about the spaghetti sauce which the hero Luke was stirring when called to the bedroom by the attractive Elspeth. We all know what happens next and I worried that the pan would boil dry and cause a fire.  It seems lots of other readers had the same concern!

Back home I set about a few jobs and then took my cuppa out in to the garden to watch the birds awhile.  This sparrow was watching the feeders from the security of the flowering redcurrant. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.