JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 255: Make Lemonade

I was not pleased to find that the calabrese broccoli, which was looking fantastic a couple of days ago when I last picked some, was suddenly all starting to run to seed. I was even less happy when the box of heads I had brought in to sort out, clean and freeze turned out to be infested with cabbage white caterpillars. The brassicas are all netted, essential here to avoid complete demolition by pigeons, but the butterflies somehow get under the nets or lay eggs through them. However, just before scraping off the last stripey, hairy caterpillar, it occurred to me that it would be a good model for further macro practice. This one was not too lively and posed very calmly for me.

This time of year is always busy, with lots of produce ready at the same time. Today, as well as preparing broccoli, I made jelly with a mix of fruit from the garden and orchard which had been dripping overnight - a late summer mixture of small or damaged apples, a few quinces and pears, blackcurrants (mostly from the freezer), blackberries and raspberries. It set quickly and easily, and after a second boil with some more water, I have returned the fruit pulp to the jelly bag overnight so that tomorrow I can make cordial. I just had time to pick another tub of raspberries; there are lots more waiting, and the surplus is easy to freeze for use in winter puddings and cakes. 

I'm falling asleep as I type; no time to browse tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.