fairyhedgehog

By fairyhedgehog

A funny old day

I'm feeling a bit under the weather today, but I decided to go ahead with my online clarinet lesson anyway. I looked for the Zoom link - only to find I'd replied last week with "sorry I can't make it", thinking I was cancelling that week's lesson. A quick email to my very understanding teacher sorted that out.

So I got my laptop set up for the Zooming, and I did a little practice, then waited for my teacher to invite me to the meeting. My laptop went black, then when I jiggled the cursor, asked me to sign in again, which I did.

All ready now, I waited. And waited. Eventually I checked the laptop only to find I had no internet! Oh no, not again (as the bowl of petunias said). While I was trying to work out what was going on, I realised my cursor was slow and erratic, so I restarted the laptop but instead of shutting down and restarting, I got the Blue Screen of DeathTM. 

In the end I managed to use my old laptop to login and got half of my half hour lesson. 

Afterwards I gave my laptop a hard reset (that's pressing  the on/off switch and keeping it pressed till the laptop gives in and shuts down) and now it's acting normally again. I have no idea what happened.

So that was the highlight of the day. Well, that and descaling the kettle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.