Produce

At long last we have a few tomatoes ripening enough to pick and eat. I have had a few sneaky bites when I've been in the poly tunnel watering, but it's hardly been worth picking just an odd one or two! Besides growers perks!
I spent the day doing all things garden related. I picked what is almost the last of the courgettes that have been producing constantly for weeks now. I cleaned and tidied the growing room, where I have already started my over wintering with some lavender cuttings, taken from a bush I grew from seeds last winter in there. I spent most of the rest of the day planning with my garden journal, choosing which plants I will be hopefully giving a head start to. My plan is to grow from seed over winter because our ground is very often either frozen or really cold until late Spring. Hopefully this will give me plants to put in the garden as soon as it warms up and some flowers for the summer. Best made plans don't always come together but I'll give it a try and I'll enjoy the process regardless.
Mum was very jolly this evening with lots to chat about. They opened up the dining room for anyone who would like to have there lunch together in there. They had a menu to choose from and she had a nice time enjoying her food and chatting to some neighbours. Her and her friend Pauline, whose husband died last week, then spent the afternoon together in mum's flat drinking tea and putting the world to rights I suspect! Pauline is in a two bedroom flat at the moment and they do ask if they will move to a one bedroom if left on their own. Pauline says she will only move if she can still be near to mum! Apparently there is an empty flat two doors along from mum so they are plotting to get her moved in there! I hope that I still have as much enthusiasm for life at mum's age. She has had a horrid year, losing my brother, going through Covid herself and having to be locked away on her own for so long it's wonderful to hear her full of life again. Last night she had me ordering new pictures for her walls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.