misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

missed the blip by 20 minutes...

Here at the small village catholic Church where I sing in what passes for the choir, I loved watching the sun beaming through this window during the Passion/Palm Sunday service. It is not the perfect blip I would have liked because at the precise, golden moment when the colours melted together into religious bliss, the priest was still into his homily.
Yet, the camera was right there on the organ behind me. I could easily have turned it on, focused, blipped and captured without the flash, but "lead us not into temptation" is what the prayer advises... so I refrained. You are getting a second class blip for my efforts.
Also, my action could have been obvious since I was the only singing choir member who showed up. The other singer who does a bass line is the guitarist. She is also the choir director. Blipping during mass in Lent may be in the list of catholic sins. Singing all alone during Lent is a penance for me and those not hard of hearing. Nothing compared to house renovations for the full 40 Days of Lent, by God!

Renovation Report:
New Daddy, Elf #2, arrived to work on Friday. Since mum and daughter were still at the hospital until the weekend I thought he'd be rested and fresh, but he's had to take care of his three young daughters and this tired him out. Poor elf! Why can't he appreciate the mother of his two youngest girls instead of wanting to chuck her out? She seems to be naming this one something that sounds like that Japanese dog breed, Akita or something close.
Elf #2 and girl friend #2 argued so much over the name of the last girl (3 years ago) that she was saddled with Arabella. It could work for her since Bella is one of the most popular girl/vampire film names now.

Elf#1 cheerfully agreed to re-paint the bathroom floor trim without his displays of agony. I am steeling myself for his reaction tomorrow when I insist that he replace the framing trim around the door in the hallway with the original trim. The new stuff looks like it has the pox. He has tried to make it work. All the door trims were removed and are stored in the basement as possibly useful future bits. I pulled three likely candidates out and have laid them near the bathroom doorway -- protruding nails covered.
Since the beginning[of time, it feels] I have asked to have the same old, varnished wood trim used because it matches all the other lovely old wood in the house... since then, he has always refused. He plans very big cleaning tomorrow. Good... and trim replacement, I hope.
Bottom line? Ah, yes, that will be the day I sign the checks... or not.
Hope this ends happily. What I have found that works with him instead of ranting or criticising (elves are deeply sensitive creatures, no matter how dirty their clothes) here's what works and could do with other men. also.
Now, male readers here are asked to cover their eyes for a moment while I whisper this secret to our women blippers:
[to avoid conflict it is best to start a sentences with "I am not happy..."[/i]]
Not sure about others but Elf#1 has had a total meltdown in the past once I figured this formula out. Could be essential Elf-nature but he kept apologizing and claiming. "Oh, you can't be unhappy." and "I can make you happy." Brings a smile to the female lips.
Never noticed this about men elves before, but, of course, their home lives are unusual in the extreme unique.
And so now singing into next week we go out of the ice age, I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.