Lederlaufkäfer - Carabus coriaceus

Today this giant beetle crossed our way. Obviously it is a Carabus coriaceus or Lederlaufkäfer.
I added the tip of my finger for a messure. And I had forgotten that the mobile (!) was still in a b&w mood, but that seem to be alright because the beetle is black,too.
Later Wikipedia told me that:
The flightless, nocturnal animals hunt insects, snails, worms and carrion on the forest floor, sometimes they also go for fruit. During the day, the beetles hide under moss or stones, but you can rarely see them during the day. In case of danger, they secrete a foul-smelling liquid from glands in the abdomen. The larvae pupate after several moults in the ground. The finished beetle then hatches from them. The species forms one generation per year, which can be found from August to September. The beetles live for about two to three years.

A tractor had to stop so as not to run over blippers or bugs :-D

I spent most of the afternoon to accompany a Lady to the GP. I'm a registrated helper at the Caritas, but i'm rarely called. While I was waiting I managed to read a book about the Camino de Santiago.  Greengirl is on her way with her daughter, too, that makes it even more special. It's a long time ago since I had the time to read. So it is a win win situation :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.