madowoi

By madowoi

Wood

We age in darkness like wood
and watch our phantoms change
     their clothes
of shingles and boards
for a purpose that can only be
     described as wood.

Wood, by Richard Brautigan


I want to be clear that I do not think this poem makes any sense, but it does fit in with the theme "wood." Also this butterfly, which I believe is some type of common wood nymph, has unfortunately been dead for several days. 

Suddenly I'm reminded that for a short time I was a devotee of the motivational phrase "Knock out the dead wood in your thought and behavior." It was while working a job going door-to-door raising money for an environmental organization. By the time someone came to the door they'd find a brand new me.

I might have to try this again. The phrase, of course, not the job. Hopefully not the job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.