Gates House

Jane Gates was born into slavery in 1819 and freed during the Civil War. She bought this house on our street in 1871. She was the first Black woman to own property in this county.

She died in 1888. The Gates family owned the home until 1941. It changed hands a few times until 2007, when her descendants were able to buy it. The Gates family still owns it, and on Aug. 31, they marked 150 years since she bought it.

I seen her descendant John Gates ever so often when I go on my daily walk. He lives across the street and a few houses down from this house. We've spoken a few times and share friendly nods. It's interesting that his family has such a history here.

Also, I love that house in the background. I need to get a good shot of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.