Cleverer than I thought

The pheasants and the squirrels between them scratch the grass beneath the bird feeders until there is nothing but a bald patch, no matter how frequently I move the feeders.  I thought I had a solution in this nifty Roamwild Bird Seed Catcher.  It looks like a big green flower, but its metal petals funnel spilled bird seed into a covered container.  You can fix it at one of two heights.  I decided to fix it at the higher level to make it more difficult for the squirrels.  I noticed that this made it a good height for the pheasants to reach the bird feeder, but thought that pheasants would be too stupid to work this out for themselves.  Well, it took less than a day before the first pheasant was perched up there.  It's not easy for them as they have to fly up and grab the slippery metal edge in their claws.  The pole is flexible so it sways underneath them, and I've seen a pheasant slide inelegantly into the middle of the "flower" and have difficulty getting out.  But undeterred, they are persisting and providing us with a lot of amusement.  Two good things - the squirrels haven't cracked it yet and no seeds are falling to the ground so the grass underneath is perfect :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.