Frontier

By Frontier

Light Fixture

Levert - (Pop, pop, pop, pop) Goes My Mind

I like bumping into remnants of the not so distant past. I have a connection to it and try to retrace my memories, senses and feelings of the time. Although I was never around in Japan when this fixture was first “fixed” I do remember some moments at around the same time when I was in Australia. I’m probably just imagining things but going to department stores in Melbourne and running around the toy department, checking out He-Man toys and the latest Return of the Jedi releases… linoleum floors, fluorescent bar lights…

Although this song was released a few years later and never really made ways in Australia (at least within top 100 listeners anyway), the video is enough to get me to desperately recollect any stylistic similarity in my memories.

My brain starts making timelines of when fashion/music trends were big. The new jack swing sound didn’t really hit Australia on a pop level until about ‘91-92 when it appeared in Michael Jackson videos/singles. I start to imagine what it would have been like in the US (key areas) of what it would have been like to hear Jam, say, when it first hit the airwaves and hearing it at a corner store.

Fashion trends in Japan on the other hand stretch beyond “regular” fashion ebbs and flows of western countries. 80s is still going strong here and even lifestyles of the 50s/60s. On the way to work you’ll still see people rocking brylcreem and the style my grandpa used to wear to work. I remember visiting my grandpa in Malaysia when I was a toddler and his office was black leather chairs with wooden plated furniture with a green carpet. He had the block white shirt with a pocket for pens and brylcreem comb over.

As you can see, I’m ranting waaay to long without rhyme or reason. I just enjoy diving into the past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.