Glass ceiling

Mum and I went to the Rodin exhibition at Tate Modern this morning. I wasn't sure beforehand that I'd really like it because two generations ago (when I was an au pair in Paris) I discovered, fell in love with and frequently visited the Musée Rodin there. I thought I'd seen them all. How wrong I was. 

I always loved the hands he made, with their veins and tendons and arthritic joints but I didn't know that he kept hundreds of sculpted body parts in drawers labelled abattis (giblets) (extra 1). I had no idea that he bought ancient pots and incorporated them into his sculpture (extra 2) and I didn't know that he created a form over and over again and used it in different combinations with other forms. It's a small exhibition but fascinating and I feel I know far more about Rodin than I did. It's also beautifully displayed on packing crates.

We ate lunch outdoors in the unexpectedly warm sun then on my way back to the bus I visited the Covid Memorial Wall (extra). So many people, fittingly opposite the House of Commons where decisions that should have been made were not.

So many people. This evening, on Channel 4, I watched 'Help', an excellent (and distressing) drama about Covid in a care home in March-April 2020. Highly recommended if you can get it on catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.