Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

A Delight

I had been sporadically reading poet Ross Gay’s “The Book of Delights” recommended to me by a (non blipper) friend.    He took a year to write an essay every day about the small pleasures of his life but there are just 102 in this book.  I had about 10 to go and when I opened it up on my iPad today…poof, it disappeared … the 3 weeks library loan was up!    So I borrowed the audible one from the library to finish and was glad to hear his voice.  It helped, as I didn’t always “get” what his delight was.    I do need to read more of his poetry….
Here’s one short review 

I thought  “that’s like blip!”   which are often, not always,  about delights of the day.  With photo.. twice the punch.  

And then I read  (Kendall, on blip) how important writing something (or taking the photo?) and connecting everyday contributes to brain health, something all of us of a certain age I think are interested in.    Let’s keep on blipping!  It’s a double dose, with the photo .   ( Hopefully we don't all have to be "elegant" writers...)

This sticky bun pastry was my delight for the day…. a 3/4 mile walk to the bakery and the same back…a look at the changes in the neighborhood,   something I’ve missed for the last 5 weeks.   More pastries and cookies and good bread, too for the following days.  All delightful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.