Safe journey home

I always enjoy travelling by train and all credit to Scot Rail this morning: I left Edinburgh Waverley at 7.42 and was on the pier at Gourock two hours and three minutes later, with a single easy platform change at Glasgow Central.  The serices are certainly less busy than they were before the pandemic but they seem to have improved in customer service and reliability. 

Cal Mac didn't  do quite as well, fond as I am also of ferry journeys.   

There is meant to be a half hourly service from Gourock  to Dunoon but the second boat has been under repair for more than two months , having required a new propellor to be made for it which not only seems bizarre, but also very lengthy.   

Consequently there is presently only one service per hour which meant that I was only  getting into my car at the Argyll side for the last lap home   just before 11.00.       

My extra photo shows the ferry leaving Dunoon after dropping us off on what had  by that time turned into a misty, wet morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.