fletch49er

By fletch49er

In memory of Hiroshima & Nagasaki

Photos my dad took whilst on National Service in 1957.

Top Photos:
Part of the 'Grapple Operation' atom bomb airburst tests over Malden Island, Pacific.
My dad was back on Malden Island with others just hours after the blast to collect test results.

Bottom Photo:
HMS Warrior, during an Atlantic storm. Transporting my Dad and the rest of the National Servicemen to Kiritimati (Christmas Island) via the Panama Canal.

Grapple X Baby

Grapple X Baby
Now what does that mean?
Hell I want you all to try
And picture the scene
A long line of soldiers,
All turning their backs
Because the flash will blind
As a matter of fact

Grapple X Baby
He’s awaiting that blast
What must he be thinking
As the wind rushes past
Standing arms outstretched
As far as they can
He’s just gone and caught
One 'even atom tan'

Grapple X Baby
Now that's not the norm
Man he just made it
Through an Atlantic storm
But he made that journey
On the Warrior's back
Dropped off at Kiritimati
Underneath the Union Jack

Grapple X Baby
‘57 was a misdeed
Just explode it on over
It just had to succeed
They're looking for success
By hook or by crook
Nothing like an 'Air-burst'
For that wind swept look

Grapple X Baby
You Government man
And your race for power
And your hurried plan
But how many RADs
Must have they absorbed?
The answers to that,
Have been all but ignored

Grapple X Baby
It was a miracle I was born
Kiritimati, that mistress
From whom I was torn
Once wondered if I could be
A marvel-ous mutant
But accepting the facts
I knew that I couldn't

But accepting the facts
I knew that I couldn't

In memory of the victims of the Hiroshina and Nagasaki bombs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.