pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Buffering

I knew they were there waiting for me. Two emails. Two emails and three meetings all lined up, just waiting to ambush my relaxed slide into the weekend.

Turns out that the two emails were fairly easy to deal with and that each of the meetings went well as I’d put in the necessary prep time. It’s not very often I’ll hear myself saying the phrase “insurers just want to be certain that these people have had the necessary training before cutting into their patients.” I don’t think that’s unreasonable.

The planning session went well too and I must be getting better at this because my boss and I agreed on where the target needs to be for next year. Crucially, it is eminently realistic and achievable…….as long as I do a good job. Aye, there’s the rub.

I recently opted for what I thought was a routine broadband upgrade and was expecting no more than a new router. Imagine my surprise then, when Wayne rocked up, pointed at some wires, shook his head, sucked the air in through his teeth before whipping out a metre-long drill bit which he then used to create a bore hole through my back yard. There followed two hours of flashing gizmos and redundant wires being ripped out of various places.

I just wanted to reduce my Netflix buffering times…

Far more importantly, it is my weekend with the children and have deposited the old router at the Post Office, I made my way over to the school singing along to some good tunes in my ears and basking in the hot sun-drenched Friday feeling.

The children have been great this evening and spent a long time sending cars down this cobbled together ramp, which has previously been decorated by them. I also tried to show them how to Salsa dance to the Buena Vista Social Club, before remembering that I don’t know how to do that.

Have a great weekend y’all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.