Enzotraveldog

By Enzotraveldog

‘The Don’

The day started uneventfully. The folks had arranged to meet a lady who bred Australian Cattle-dogs. Interesting, thought I.

Her driveway was very rough, so we met at the gate. They chatted. I went over to sniff her 4WD. Something wasn’t quite right. I could smell all sorts of dogs.

Suddenly, I was bundled into the 4WD and she took off up the drive. I knew the folks wouldn’t be able to follow in the motorhome. I looked back, they were waving, clearly devastated!

The next day or so was hazy. I’ve only managed to piece it all together recently. It turns out she was part of a dog napping, crime syndicate run by ‘the Don’.

The folks set off to find him. They had to catch a sea-plane, land on a river and traverse rapids in a high speed boat! It was all very 007!

The Don’s hideout was a big houseboat on a secret lake; only accessible by crossing the rapids. On arrival, they were invited to dinner and allocated a cabin (just like in every Bond movie!) They had a calming Martini and dressed for dinner.

The meal was fancy. There were subtle questions asked in the conversation. Afterwards they got some time alone with the Don. A deal was struck.

In the morning they returned by boat and seaplane. The Sparrow filed her report to M via the smart watch. (I always suspected that thing could do more than tell the time).

Meanwhile, back on the farm, I’d been oblivious to all of their daring deeds. Dinner was raw meat, served in a metal bowl. There was a bucket of water in the corner. It was the darkest of nights. Dawn broke. First light revealed I was not alone. There were other detainees. I bided my time. The hours passed slowly.

Suddenly I was singled out and bundled into the 4WD again. I wondered what fate awaited me. We went down the bumpy driveway.

To my surprise the folks were at the gate!
Everyone kept their distance. Standard hostage transfer protocols were followed.

“See you again Enzo” the woman said softly.
“Not if I see you first” thought I.

Footnote:
To be continued…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.