Busy Sunday

We had fried (but somewhat healthy) breakfast at the kitchen table and then I got dressed and went off to the allotment. I did some picking and clearing, quite a few things are starting to come to an end now. 
 
Currently the plan is still to give up the allotment so I am clearing quite a few plants out.  Most of them have self-seeded and are all over the allotment beds so it should be much clearer once I have finished.  I am also removing a few things which have never done very well and are not productive. 
 
The Helianthus ‘Lemon Queen’ in the photo (and see extra) is doing very well and should carry on for a few weeks yet.  The bees love it.  I tried to move one of the plants last year and ended up creating a wall of it.  It does look lovely but at over six foot it is a bit big.
 
It is far too big and in the wrong place so I might dig up a few bits and find somewhere in the SUDs on the development for it.  It will love being in the sunshine and will give the bees somewhere to feed after the meadow is cut each year. 
 
After the allotment I sorted out a few bits at home and then we went to a local pub with Richard's parents for dinner.  We sat outside under the stretch tent (which was good as it was raining) and had roast beef and red wine.  Was wonderful and just warm enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.