Top of the world

Giüblin 2750m, Gotthard Pass Region.
Today was the last of the 5 well-being days that our CEO gave us this year, in the mid Friday of each month since May. The weather forecast was great for the south, so Jumped on train toward the Gotthard area. First went through the tunnel to Airolo, then got the top of the pass, at 2090m. It was a clear blue sky at the too, but a really chilly wind was blowing, and was only about 7deg C. I set off on the track up to Lago Del Salla, a beautiful crystal clear reservoir with turquoise water. A definite surprise was a herd of lovely pink pigs on the way! The scenery was gorgeous, stony and grassy paths leading up above the lake, which turned rocky, and glittering with quartz as I made my way up to the col, Passo Posmeda at 2585m. What an incredible view, Piz Cristallina, and a fabulous path leading to the top of Giüblin 2750m, with a small snow field to cross. I was ready for lunch when I got the top, it was hot and sunny, as long as you could get out of the chilly breeze. It was 3 hours to the top, and I was keen to get back to the pass, there are not so many buses back to Airolo. I got into a good pace going back down with the trekking poles., I was a bit disappointed not have seen much wildlife, I was hoping to see marmots, but there weren’t any about. I got back to the pass 5 mins before the bus left, perfect timing!
14km, 750 m ascent, 5 hr 40min

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.