Me, Myself and I

Me, Myself and I

A self portrait. We have a new bathroom mirror. It seemed a good opportunity to blip myself whilst it was nice, shiny and clean. It is more of a picture of the camera in reality, but then, that it is an image of a piece of technology that is taking an image of me, laterally inverted of course, in pixels (around 14 megapixels in this case), and then compressed, re-imaged and loaded on to the internet. How extremely complicated my image is!!

"Cogito ergo sum" I think therefore I am, or perhaps it should be "I blip therefore I am"

This is maybe a reason for why a lot of us blip. It is definitional and emphasizes who we are. It is a form of thinking and reasoning. Our thinking and reasoning are hidden sometimes, and lurk behind the art form. Textual descriptions help us understand these patterns, but then you must interpret and socially construct both the text and the images. 'Blipping' is far more complicated than we think. Then, again, how much is reality or how much is fiction?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.