Irish twins

As they had been born into a Catholic family in Spain many years ago, it was quite normal for our mothers to have many children, sometimes with very little age difference between them.

Last Sunday Pau, my Catalan nephew currently living in Dublin,  brought out the expression Irish twins when he saw this old colour photo - taken in the early 1960s - of me, my brothers and sisters, my mother's sister's children and some other cousins of the same age. The different families can even be distinguished by the colours of our clothes.

It is true that my mother and her sister were twins, but they did not have twins, they had this lot of children. Some of them/us were Irish twins or Irish triplets !!

Here you can see a photo of my mother's big family. My grandmother had Irish twins and real twins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.