Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Grey Heron

My Mono Monday shot is sorted out before breakfast this morning - but then, of course, we decide to go to Bodnant. I’m afraid I just can’t leave my camera at home, and inevitably, I take far more than I’ve intended. 

Today we see a heron at the Far End for the first time - this area being one of our favourite spots. We sit by the lake enjoying the sun - ‘pestered’ by several Common Darters who take a liking to G’s knee and Tilley hat. And then we spot the heron, sitting hunched on a perch in the middle of the lake. He’s really rather boring - as hunched herons can be - and just sits there doing nothing, photographed by visitors who just aren’t quite sure what he is. ‘Is that a pigeon?’ asks one; ‘we thought is was an owl,’ stars another. Clearly bird identification is not a skill amongst these garden visitors, but they are clearly fascinated.

Besides, he’s in the shade, but as the sun moves round, this magnificent bird at last decides to move, and we witness a full-blown grooming session ranging from contortions to balletic stretches to elegant preening. And watching this, I end up with a problem: what to blip. 

In the end, it’s not that difficult; I’ll blip a mono heron. Nothing to do with the 400th celebration, I’m afraid. And then, in extras, a collage of himself in colour. 

Thanks to random_angel for hosting! 

Thank you for the love shown for my acrobatic squirrel yesterday - I’m glad it brought a smile! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.