My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

SHOT!

WSC Live: Shot! The art of football photography

One of the bits of When Saturday Comes that I've always loved is the Shot! Feature and the photos of the Match of the Month. The pictures document football in a different, more considered, less formulaic way than the usual action shots for other magazines and newspapers or the banal corporate pictures for the official programme. For me they touch on what it really means to go to the match, at all levels and is what I aspire to when I take my camera (phone) to football.

It was really interesting to hear what Simon Gill, Colin McPherson & Paul Thompson had to say about how they work and some of their favourite shots, both of their own and by others. Including this one (although I can't remember who it is by). They also talked about the archive and how it documents football over the rapidly changing modern era...and the tantalising prospect of a potential exhibition.

It also got me thinking about my favourite picture of a similar ilk, on a cold, wet night in January 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.