pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

THE WOOLSTON TANNERY

Many moons ago -The old tannery was a fellmongery - where they used to slaughter the animals and tan the hides. the buildings in Woolston, Christchurch sit beside a small river leading to the Estuary.. I can remember in my youth it being a filthy old place and I once sat a full sheep's carcass floating downstream. I did report it to the council who seemed thankful for my call - They were trying but the companies practices were somewhat lax!!  It improved over the years with a big drive to clean up the river outflow.  
Long story short - last 20 years - in comes an entrepreneur - does up the buildings and now its a showplace mall for Christchurch.
I'm submitting it as my 'Wide Wednesday' entry for today. - thanks Bobsplips for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.