Photoday Speulderbos and Harderwijk

Just two days ago I was photographing at the Veluwe, and today I was back there again. 21 sept was planned a few weeks ago to be a photo-day together with Richard.
Alarm clock at 04.40. I picked him up at 05.15 and we first went to the National Park Dwingelderveld in Drenthe. Location: Davidsplassen for a sunrise. We had been here before a few years ago and this should be a good location to start the day. Unfortunately when we arrived we discovered that the area was now blocked with an electric fence. No trespassing. So after a walk and some coffee we went on. We didn't even touch the camera. The sunrise wasn't that great anyway, way too much clouds.

Around 09.15 we arrived at the forest Speulderbos. We took our gear and went into the woods. The weather was georgeous. Beautiful dappled light between the beautiful dancing trees. Fantastic. We stayed until 13.30.
Lunch in Gasteren, a village nearby.

We then went on to Harderwijk, to scout our sunset location.
Richard flew his drone a while and took some nice captures of the city. I didn't. Somehow I don't feel comfortable flying in areas with too many people nearby.

We walked through the city for a while as well and I recognized some places even. When I was a small kid I have lived in Harderwijk for 3 years. (from my 3rd to my 6th age.) Strange how the brains can connects things from the past. 
After a nice Mexican dinner at 'Holy Moly' we went back to the spot we already scouted. A memorial for the Killed Allied Aviators in WWII.

The sunset wasn't that great and I had already packed my stuff when suddenly the sky exploded with beautiful colors. I reinstalled my gear and for the next 5 minutes I captured the best photos of this session.
Amazing light!

Around 20.00 it was over and we went back to my car. Around 22.00 I dropped Richard off at his home. 3 minutes later I parked at my own driveway. Tired.
I was a great way to officially start the autumn 2021!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.