‘Spring rolls’

Apologies to anyone whose culture includes spring rolls.

The pastry has been getting bashed in the freezer for some time, so the sheets weren’t exactly unbroken. They were taken out too soon and left to dry out, which didn’t help. At least I could remedy that with lots of wet kitchen roll.

The brokenness didn’t help with the wrapping; I feared for their integrity in the deep-fat fryer, so I bunged them in the oven for a bit. They came out oozing goop. I served them with dips and fried rice, with a side of pak choi.

I ran out of filling (Peking jackfruit-duck and veg), so I scrunched up the remaining sheet and the other sheet that was in two parts, then roughly sliced them. I put them in a tin and sprinkled sugar on them and put them in the oven for twenty minutes. I might use up the rest of the packet like that. Cracking with a cup of tea!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.