Chiara

By Chiara

Benny Golson

I am now a card-carrying Chicago Park District member. I swam laps in their Eckhart Park pool this morning. After an hour I became so overworked and lightheaded that I had to lay on a bench in the locker room for 15 minutes in my underwear (because I was too dizzy to put my clothes on). It seems like I forgot the most important rule I learned while being on the swim team in high school: always, always, always eat something and drink a lot of water before swimming.

It's pathetic how I'm so out of shape. In my defense, I haven't swam laps in years and years, since sophomore year of high school. I'm pretty excited about this. I miss swimming so much! For some reason, I've always found the smell of swimming pools really comforting. It's right up there with the smell of gasoline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.