soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

No weed killer here

I thought maybe it was lack of staff in Covid times, but it seems to be council policy not to use Roundup - or similar - because of the harm to bees and other pollinators . So the pavements and gutters look like this - certainly around here, as it’s not a through route for cars or pedestrians. 
It took a while to get used to it - even my fairly green mind thought it looked a bit of a mess at first.  But now I like it very much. And a proportion of the plants growing have flowers, providing a kind of green corridor for the bees to work their way along. Certainly I’ve never seen so many bees and hoverflies as this year, so maybe it really helps.  I hope they keep it up. Perhaps I should write to my new Green councillor praising the policy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.