Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Karri Forest, Caves Road

This photo really benefits from being viewed on Large.

I love driving my Subaru Liberty all wheel drive along the twists and turns of Caves Road, especially around the Boranup region with its Karri forest. This region is so beautiful all year round but particularly in Autumn when the trees have lost their bark and a little rain makes the colour of the trunks stand out a beautiful salmon colour.

My destination was Boranup Gallery which always has a great collection of local artworks of many kinds. Hand blown glass, silver jewellery, sculptures, watercolours, oil paints, furniture. The locally made jarrah and marri furniture is superb in both design and quality....well out of my price range at $13,000 for a dining table...but I can at least get the pleasure of seeing and appreciating it and that's enough.

And they still have the gorgeous traditional rocking horse which I covert and come away wondering where I could keep it in my house. Would my grandchildren love it as much as I do...and does that actually matter. The gallery doesn't allow photos to be taken and so if I want to share it here I will have to buy it. Hmmmm.....I think I am starting to talk myself into finding room for it somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.