Ruff - 71

I was working at the RSPB reserve in Burton this afternoon where a mega rare bird was spotted on Tuesday and has continued to show well on the main scrape.

Wilson's Phalarope is native to North America and it is the first time it has ever been seen at Burton and the first time in Cheshire since 1991. Obviously the reserve has been very busy as keen birders from all over the country have been to visit  and although it was very busy today I think the mad rush had died down a bit. 

I was fortunate to spot it as it was visible from the main reception area but it was too far away to photograph and I didn't really have the time anyway.  By the time I had finished it had gone but I got this photo of the ruff in the late afternoon. While It would have been nice to get a photo of the phalarope Im not unduly bothered but I might get a chance on Saturday morning as they are short of volunteers this weekend so I said I would help out before the football.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 227 -  Highlands 1.3 miles walked  897.7 miles completed


A short walk today but I'm a long way ahead of schedule. I finished between Knockbain and Belmaduthy in beautiful countryside.



  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.