Test Ride

Yes, a test ride but I'm not planning on changing my Harley XL1200T.
However, this is a new bike in the Honda portfolio, really filling a gap in their choice between the smaller bikes and the big cruisers.
It's the Honda Rebel CMX1100, using the same engine as the Africa Twin model and pretty much the same design as the Rebel CMX500 following a 'Bobber' style
For an 1100cc bike it's quite small and incredibly light at only 220kg road ready.
I rode from Gloucester to Ledbury, up to Dymock, Newent and back to Gloucester, about 36 miles and 1 hour riding.
Did I like it? Yes I did but I wouldn't buy one unless they extended the foot controls at least six inches. I am used to riding cruisers with forward pegs, the CMX1100 has mid mounted pegs and I, at just over 5' 10'', found I was a bit cramped, plus my knees rubbed against that sharp (not really sharp but you know what I mean) curve in the fuel tank.
I stopped in a layby to do a bit of video and the EXTRA is me showing where my leg is when riding. Unfortunately, I hadn't realised that, as early as on the way to Thunder Road Dealership, an insect had got splattered on my camera lens! Renders my whole ride video pretty useless but I'll have a go at it tomorrow!
The light weight took a few miles of getting used to, particularly felt it on the bends, trying to throw it into the bends takes you by surprise at first as it reacts very quickly.
It's got 3 modes of riding too, I left it on Standard, it was fine and I know, from reading other reviews, the Sport mode is very frisky!
It's a Honda, so it goes without saying it's very reliable, the mechanics are excellent, light clutch and brake levers.
It would be an excellent bike for shorter people looking to upgrade from a lower cc bike up to 1000+cc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.