madowoi

By madowoi

The Narrows

This is a scene I have wanted to capture for a long time. I still don't think this photo quite does it justice but its probably the best I can expect under the circumstances. 

The short bridge leading on to the island is off to the right of the frame. Driving to work in the morning I pass over the bridge and have a very brief view of the narrows. If the tide is out, the sky is clear, and you happen to be crossing over just about sunrise, the light will shine across an extensive mudflat stretching out into the bay, making it glow a silky purple and orange. You'll often see the hunched silhouettes of clammers digging away as they move further and further out into the flats. Roll down the window and the unmistakable pungent smell of the mud makes my nose wrinkle, though some people (such as my wife) swear they love it. 

Of course, taking a photo from this bridge, especially during an early morning commute, is basically a death wish. The park has a picnic area looking out in this direction, but it is closed for winter, making access difficult. Today the conditions were just right, and on impulse I turned just after the bridge and headed towards a small hotel down near the water. It was closed for years I think, and then was used as seasonal housing, so it was not a place I necessarily thought would give me any access to a nice shot. As it turns out, I took this standing about three feet away from the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.