simisue

By simisue

DRAGON FRUIT

On August 10th I posted the beautiful white flower of the PITAYA plant in my neighbor’s yard. The next day, I saw my neighbor & told him about the flower. He told me he would bring me some DRAGON FRUIT, when it ripened on the plant.

Fast forward to this morning, when my neighbor left these DRAGON FRUIT
( AKA Strawberry Pear) my front porch. I have seen them in the grocery store, but these are much more beautiful.

I was wondering why this climbing cactus, native to Central America would
have this name. Apparently the fruit
has spikes that resemble fire, & the scales resemble that of a dragon in Chinese mythology.

Apparently folks from Nicaragua use this sweet & crunchy fruit in a juice, adding lime juice, sugar & water. It tastes & has the texture of kiwi.

Tomorrow I will taste it & report back….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.