Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

After work I went round to visit the shiny

and found the Nephew beavering away. No photos! He said, and I respected that. He did permit one when he had finished working, but I've needed to faff with it because pre-faff, it looked like it had been taken by a Goth.

Later, Herself downstairs asked me if I'd like to try Ricky Gervais' comedy series “After Life”. She was very cautious about the suggestion. It's a comedy show based around the life of a man who feels suicidal following the death of his wife, so plenty of potential for hitting the wrong note.

The premise seems to be that once you no longer care about anything at all, you can be as rude and sweary as you like. It's not laugh-out-loud funny like Father Ted, but it is the correct tone for the subject.

It stands to reason than no comedian would ever consider tackling this scenario if they didn't have a depth of understanding and a burning desire to share it.

I haven't yet researched Mr Gervais' back-story to find out how he has pulled this one off, but all I can say is that I am very impressed by his ability to hold my hand and walk me across the bomb-site and show me all the little corners my step-son would have found hilarious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.