Local Is The Best.....!!!!

So they say anyway.....and this is local honey gathered by local bees...!
My friend brought me this gift when she came to visit last week and Ballyfair Farm and Market Garden is right in her locality .
I have read that honey made by bees within a radius of 10 to 20 miles around you has a much higher effect on your immune system etc......well I can certainly vouch for this.
It smells and tastes wonderful....and will lift my morning porridge to a whole new level while it lasts!!!
Which won’t be long..!!
You can see it says Wild Meadow on it, well the two farmers who own the bees decided to plant quite a deal of their land with wild meadow flowers and clover etc ..and this came about after a spectacular failure a few years ago where their bees took a real liking to the gorse bushes on The Curragh...
I don’t know if any of you have tasted honey from wild gorse..?
But I can tell you it was dreadful...so strong ...we couldn’t eat it..so they had to get rid of that hive (as there would be no stopping them going back there)!!
It is not at all easy to get pure Irish Honey but when you do the difference is just amazing...!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.