Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Monday morning rush hour, Watrous, Sask.

This is the most activity I have seen out there this morning, as observed from my hotel bedroom. No way am I going out there this morning, but it's not the cold (-12) that's keeping me indoors. After 20 hours travel by air and two days on the road, I'm happy to stay indoors, read, knit, and swim today. My son and heir feels just the same.

We are having such a good time together. There is over two years of news to share and all the pleasure of shared connections with people we love and a history we share. Today is his 40th birthday and I would like to place on record how overwhelmingly proud of him I am. In his short life he has overcome severe difficulties and faced challenging circumstances which would have floored most people. I so admire his determination, his work ethic and, most of all his loving, caring nature. Maybe it's the jet lag, but as Sorley Maclean says it takes ' a little weeping to my eyes'...but don't be fooled into thinking it's all been serious- we have been also been enjoying some bloody good laughs...

I don't normally experience jet lag going West, but this time it's been bad, upsetting my digestion and sleep, and also my sense of balance. Time for a wee siesta, methinks...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.