Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

From 70s to 90s in 18 months

Like many, many others I am sure, I have been pondering the effects of Covid on our lives - both immediate and longer term. I am struck by a strong sense that I have been put through a crash course in growing up from my 70s to my 90s. Both my mother and my paternal grandmother lived until they were 96. I think I now have an (unwelcome) understanding of how I suspect they felt, that is that there was nothing to look forward to in the future, the present was pretty ordinary and the only thing left was to enjoy the past. That’s what I find myself doing whenever the maintenance jobs of the present are (temporarily) finished. I’m still reorganising photos from our 1984 European trip!! I’m sorry, Mum and Nan, that I didn’t get it when you were living through it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.