Predator

On This Day In History
1960: Kennedy and Nixon square off in first televised presidential debate

Quote Of The Day
"Both these men are crafty and able, both burning with ambition, both healthily detest each other. No flicker of honest rage appeared last night..... Senator Kennedy looked slightly mocking and handsomely incredulous. Mr. Nixon tempered his foxlike response with a smile that must have been painful to adopt......
"The Queensbury rules have saved many a good man from a kick in the groin. But enough is enough. Last night we saw two bloodhounds done up in party frocks."
(Alistair Cooke)

I never expected to see this on my 22km run this afternoon. A Japanese Kite, or tombi. I've seen them flying high up, but never perched so close to the ground and close to a person (me.)

The Hunter 
I was always fascinated by the sound at the beginning of this song. I found out after many years, in a Japanese science museum, that it is called the Shepard Tone, a simultaneous progression up and down the scale that gives the illusion of being infinite.

The Shepard Tone. This is a trip. But be warned; if you fall asleep while watching/listening to this, you will wake up in Oz.

Just discovered that Hans Zimmer built his epic soundtrack for Dunkirk around the Shepard Tone. I recall he also used it to great effect in The Dark Knight, whenever The Joker delivered a monologue. Well, I've long believed that a Gary Numan/Hans Zimmer collaboration would be a match made in heaven. In fact, they possibly have collaborated (not confirmed, but the version of Gary Numan's Metal used in Wonder Woman '84 certainly sounds like it was beefed up by H.Z.) I suspect lawyers are preventing it from being official. 

A Gary Numan vocal on Sea Wall would be a total eargasm!

Oh my god! Jean-Michel Jarre, Gary Numan, Moby and Hans Zimmer! Together!

Fascinating comment from Moby regarding the 1,000th of a second bit rate delay on a CD relative to the real time sound of vinyl being responsible for the "warm" sound of vinyl and the "cold" sound of CD's. I'll buy that, even though I'm not a vinyl nerd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.