The 'Wippersmolen', Maassluis

'Maassluis' = not 'Maassloos' but somewhere between 'Maas-slice' and 'Maas-slouse'.  Tricky, yea.
'The Wipper's Mill'.  To 'wip' could mean 'to see-saw' (as in the playground) or to 'have a good one' (as in a roll in the hay).  I doubt it's the latter.
So... this is the second one in Maassluis, so I'm done with Maassluis. ;D)

The skies didn't clear till rather late in the afternoon, although AW had already spotted large blue patches around noon.  I did not trust it, and the grey layers could just as easily have grown in thickness, weather forecast notwithstanding.  Then, about 16.30, it became really lovely, but I needed to do some supermarket errands first.  Walked to the shopping area and then back, and then I was sure I wanted to give it a shot.  By that time, though, it was around 17.30, so now it was a race to catch the last light.  Which one?  Benthuizen was too far, the N3 to Oud Alblas was inaccessible so I'd have had to take the long route, and the A29 was also under construction, with an even longer 'around' route.  Could I find the second one in Maassluis without having memorized the roadmap?  I knew which neighbourhood it was in, so maybe if I just drove around there, I would locate it.  Absolutely no traffic anywhere and there was a city map close after the exit -- it was situated barely 2 km. from where I had stopped.  I was in time to catch the beautiful orange rays of the setting sun.  What a lovely spot!

On the way home, the sun was becoming more orange, the stage set for a fabulous sunset, and I decided to go for it.  There's an extra, shot on the Moerdijk bridge at the speed of 100 kph.  Haven't done that in quite a long while!  Very, very slightly skewed, nothing a bit of post-processing couldn't straighten out.

Finished the Battle of Dunbar MOOC even before I had set out, so I had fun the rest of the evening.  It'll be a great weekend, I can tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.