Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Minesweeper

Saturday was what I'll describe as a 'varied' day.

Took the train up to Arbroath as I wanted to visit the recently-opened Declaration of Arbroath exhibition at the Abbey. It was due to be opened last year, on the 700th Anniversary of the signing of the Declaration, but events put paid to that. It was a good exhibition, although the Abbey ruins themselves are currently off-limits, while Historic Scotland do investigation and repair work on some crumbling masonry. Nearly 1000 years of Scottish weather have taken their toll, I reckon.

From there I took the bus up to Montrose, my original destination for the trip as I wanted to watch my team on their quest for promotion from SPFL League 1. It was yet another stumbling block on that particular road as the Bairns needed two late goals to scramble an unlikely draw from 2-0 down to the home team.

Had a wee wander around Montrose after the match, including a walk along the seafront, where this sculpture of The Minesweeper stands. A search on t'internet came up with this: The bronze life-size sculpture, which was first created by artist William Lamb in 1944, was unveiled on Montrose esplanade in 2000. It commemorates the job of the Minesweepers who patrolled the sand dunes during World War II, looking out for mines which may have been swept into the harbour.

An 'interesting' train journey back to Stirling due to the presence of some young, very loud, boisterous and drunk Falkirk fans - most of whom were at the younger end of the alcohol-buying spectrum, and some who in my opinion had not yet reached such 'maturity' - and the addition of (thankfully not as loud or inebriated) Rangers fans who joined the train at Dundee. Glad to say no inter-club rivalry took off, at least in the carriage in which I was sitting.

I slept early and well, the addition of alcohol to my bloodstream waiting until I had reached home. There was a car due to be driven home from Stirling after all that excitement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.