Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

For Else

Some days take unexpected turns and land you in someplace utterly special.  Such was my day today.  I knew it would start out great because it was Sunday morning when we have a FT chat with my parents. As usual, we talked and talked and then talked some more.  Then, I loaded my kayak onto the roof rack with a paddle in mind.

Just as I was getting ready to leave, my friend Giselle called me to ask if there would be anyway I might want to come take photos of a hawk release she was doing in memory of a very special woman.  Of course, I instantly said yes, grabbed a camera, hopped in my car, and headed to her place.  

The hawk was a beautiful female red shoulder in her second year.  She came to Giselle last year with injuries from a car-strike. She is fully healed, big, and strong.  And the backstory was just so special.  I am going to post a link to Else's obituary HERE and encourage you to read it if you have a few minutes because she led an extraordinary life.  Her husband, Wayne, who is a long-time birder, was able to do the release.  He said a few words about his beloved Else before he and Giselle let the hawk go.  Take a look in Extra and please notice Wayne's face.  Honestly, I was choking back tears as I clicked the shutter.  I felt so honored to be able to photograph this moment.

As an added bonus, I also got to meet one of Giselle's current residents, a leucistic/partially albino cardinal!  She is exquisite and I'm not really sure my images do her justice but take a peek anyway HERE  .  The peachy tones of her wings are just amazing.  

So, all in all, a very good day.  And topped off by seeing a hummer in the garden when I got home.  Getting very late now for them to be here...

Dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.