jillington

By jillington

Freedomhunt2021

I was invited to attend (for the first time) the FreedomHunt on the farm where we play music. It’s a yearly event where physically and mentally challenged kids get to gather (with their families) to fish and hunt. It was inspiring. People from all over Indiana gather to volunteer their time (and treasure) to make the event spectacular for the kids. There were little contests, prizes, opportunities for photos and bragging rights.
My favorite part of the day was when I got to meet Charlie (the deer blood tracking dog) and watch him work. His dad said, “Jill, you could get your entire arm chopped off and bleed all over these woods and Charlie would not even notice it because he would be thinking about the two drops of deer blood that he could smell from a hundred yards off.” I thought he was spectacular. Charlie, I mean.
So it was a gorgeous day and I have been invited back to bring Joel fishing. I hope he decides to try it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.