Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Tay Time

It’s been way too long since either M or I had a proper holiday (what with, you know, ‘one thing and another…’) so we decided to rectify the situation and venture north of the border for a couple of weeks away from work, online meetings and ‘the new normal’. I’ll be back-blipping about our trip over the coming days.

Our first week saw us based in a lovely flat in central Dundee, where we arrived at mid-afternoon today, allowing us time for a wander around to get our bearings and to do some all-important food shopping. We then settled down for the evening to watch Emma Raducanu’s epic win at the US Open. What a match!! I’m a big tennis fan but I’m not sure I’ve ever been as riveted to the spot as I was tonight. Riveted to the spot until the final few games, at least - by which point I was on my feet and pacing the floor until the winning shot, when I danced around like a dervish. M swears I kissed the screen! I’m not sure I actually did… but I may well have! A great start to the fortnight!

The first song that springs to mind when I think of Dundee is this rendition of ‘Susie Clelland’ by June Tabor and the Oyster Band www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xihj4f9x91o so that’s the accompaniment for this shot of the Tay Road Bridge, with the rail bridge just visible in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.