ferryoons

By ferryoons

Antique relaxation

Needing time off we drifted over to Nairn for a harbour takeaway lunch, and a bit of antique browsing.

On the way we stopped off at Daviot and picked up a couple of shelves for the kitchen. We could have had a second hand anti-aircraft missile, marked "do not drop". Seems a sensible warning, but not a sensible buy. But then Daviot is a place with a sense of humour.

And so to the world's biggest fish finger sandwich, later regretted. Thence to Auldearn for a window shop.

I do like clocks, though I sold off most of mine. This did catch my eye. Modern, with a cheap battery movement. Marked Made in West Germany, which dates it to the Cold War.

I went to lift it off the shelf, and needed both hands. Made of solid onyx, it weighs a ton. You won't be carrying this in a carriage. There's a fashion for these in Germany apparently. Not for me, my tastes run 300 years earlier, but interesting to look at. And put down again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.