Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Barcelona Day 1

Shoe shopping was done within half an hour. Shoe shops? I've never seen so many! The boots with the soles falling off were consigned to the bin.

20 degrees today. I went out without my hat for the first time since last summer in Noosa. And no jacket. Mind you, the locals were all still in coats.

There was a lot of shouting while I was standing waiting for JR (who was in a shop, what a surprise). I thought it was a pickpocket or something. But it was this man, possibly the father of one (or both) girls. They had run off a bit far, and he came running after them. He was giving them a lecture about not running off, and one wee girl was trying to look contrite, while the other one was smirking. Wonder which one was the daughter. I quite liked the background.

We had an amble down Las Ramblas, round by the cathedral, then over to meet our house swapper at his flat. We were sitting in the sun in a pavement cafe, and I had an extra beer, as we were an hour early for our arranged meeting. Only I was still on UK time, and we were an hour late. No worries, as he was working from home anyway.

The flat is super, very central position, and we'll go there on Wednesday afternoon, while they fly to freezing Edinburgh. Doesn't seem fair. He was a very charming young man too, and I know he will take care of our flat. It's nice when you get to meet the people, though it's not usual.

We whizzed around on the metro, came home to do my blip, and no photos would upload/download to my iPad. Either the cord was shot, or the do-dacky connector. Damn!

But this is Barcelona! There is an Apple shop here, and it was just up the road. What luck.

We went there, got a new cord, and bingo! It all works again. Back at the B & B, very tired. Apologies if I don't get back to you with comments this week. Being on holiday is quite tiring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.